jump to navigation

Murali milestone in series sweep July 14, 2007

Posted by arkaroy1234 in SRI LANKA.
add a comment

Third Test Match
Bangladesh 131 (M Muralitharan 6-28) & 176 (Shahriar Nafees 64, M Muralitharan 6-54) v Sri Lanka 500-4 dec (K C Sangakkara 222 no, D P M D Jayawardene 165)
Sri Lanka beat Bangladesh by an innings and 193 runs

Muttiah Muralitharan became the second bowler to take 700 Test wickets as Sri Lanka completed a 3-0 series win against Bangladesh on the fourth day in Kandy.

Muralitharan claimed figures of 6-54 to help bowl out Bangladesh for 176 in their second innings and seal victory for his side by an innings and 193 runs.

That completed a match haul of 12-82 for the 35-year-old off-spinner – the 20th 10-wicket bag of his 113-game career – and moved him to exactly 700 Test wickets, just eight behind the record held by retired Australian leg-spinner Shane Warne.

Muralitharan, playing in front of his home-town crowd, reached the landmark when Bangladesh’s last batsman Syed Rasel was caught at mid-off in the afternoon session.

Sri Lanka had declared their first innings at 500-4 overnight, leaving Kumar Sangakkara on 222 not out, his second unbeaten double century in successive Tests.

That left Bangladesh requiring 369 to make Sri Lanka bat again and avoid a third straight innings defeat in the series.

But only Shahriar Nafees provided much resistance with 64, the next highest score being the 22 made by his opening partner Javed Omar during a first-wicket stand of 47.

From a promising position of 98-1, Bangladesh lost their final nine wickets for just 78 runs as they again failed to deal with the threat of Muraltharan.

Muralitharan, who finished the series with 26 wickets at 10.84, will have the opportunity to pass Warne’s record in Australia during Sri Lanka’s two-Test tour in November.



Posted by arkaroy1234 in TOUR DE FRANCE.
add a comment

T-Mobile’s Linus Gerdemann won the seventh stage of the Tour de France, claiming the yellow jersey from Fabian Cancellara in the process.

Gerdemann prevailed by 40 seconds from Inigo Landaluze as this year’s race entered the Alps for the first time with a 197.5 kilometre ride from Bourg-en-Bresse to Le Grand Bornand.

The 24-year-old, taking part in his first Tour, launched the decisive move seven kilometres from the summit of the day’s final climb – the category one Col de la Colombiere.

Credit Agricole’s Dimitriy Forfonov and Gerdemann had worked hard on the lower slipes of the Colombiere to distance themselves from their colleagues in an earlier 15-man breakaway group.

But Fofonov was then left stunned by a sudden attack that allowed Gerdemann to reach the summit alone and then speed down the 10km descent to the finish in Le Grand Bornand.

Astana duo Andreas Kloeden and Alexandre Vinokourov, who were both injured during separate crashes on Thursday, came through the stage safely in the main peloton.

“It was a bit better than yesterday,” said pre-race favourite Vinokourov. “I still suffered a lot. It was important to get past the first pass. It’s almost a victory for me.

“I hope it will be better tomorrow. I wanted to stay with the favourites. Then, we’ll see.”

Cancellara, who had held the yellow jersey for a week since winning the prologue, struggled on the first day in the mountains to surrender the race lead.

Stage seven result:
1. Linus Gerdemann (Germany / T-Mobile ) 4 hrs 53 mins 13 secs
2. Inigo Landaluze (Spain / Euskaltel ) +40″
3. David De la Fuente (Spain / Saunier Duval ) +1:39″
4. Mauricio Soler (Colombia / Barloworld ) +2:14″
5. Laurent Lefevre (France / Bouygues Telecom ) +2:21″
6. Fabian Wegmann (Germany / Gerolsteiner ) +3:32″
7. Juan Manuel Garate (Spain / Quick-Step ) +3:38″
8. Xavier Florencio (Spain / Bouygues Telecom )
9. Christophe Moreau (France / AG2R )
10. Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Caisse d’Epargne )
11. Oscar Pereiro (Spain / Caisse d’Epargne )
12. Tadej Valjavec (Slovenia / Lampre )
13. Yaroslav Popovych (Ukraine / Discovery Channel )
14. Levi Leipheimer (U.S. / Discovery Channel )
15. Martin Elmiger (Switzerland / AG2R )
16. Manuel Beltran (Spain / Liquigas )
17. Iban Mayo (Spain / Saunier Duval )
18. Alberto Contador (Spain / Discovery Channel )
19. Fraenk Schleck (Luxembourg / Team CSC )
20. Michael Boogerd (Netherlands / Rabobank )

It`s Official! Taibu Back For Zim July 14, 2007

Posted by arkaroy1234 in ZIMBABWE.
add a comment

Former Zimbabwe captain Tatenda Taibu’s return to international cricket has all but been confirmed following his inclusion in a 16-man team to face India A in two Tests and two limited-overs matches.

Taibu, who quit as Zimbabwe captain in November 2005, has been training with the team for over a week while negotiating over a new contract with Zimbabwe Cricket.

India A’s tour of Zimbabwe gets under way on July 22.

Zimbabwe Select squad: Terrence Duffin, Tinotenda Mawoyo, Vusumuzi Sibanda, Brenda Taylor, Hamilton Masakadza, Sean Williams, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Tatenda Taibu, Elton Chigumbura, Graeme Cremer, Prosper Utseya (captain), Edward Rainsford, Christopher Mpofu, Gary Brent, Trevor Garwe, Tawanda Mupariwa